Today’s Moment of “Tell ‘Em Like it is” II

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum,

Another set of quotes I have recorded from class and random encounters. They may be slightly misquoted.

(Note: pH=-log[H+], pOH=-log[OH-], pKa=-logKa, etc.)

Professor: If you need the function of your kitty cat at home, you do negative log cat (-logcat) to get pCat, which sounds like an exam to get into pharmacy school.” (PCAT)

Professor: You are expected to know this. You know what an expectation means. It means you will see it down the road in a ‘written exercise’.
(About tests)

Professor: (repeatedly) If an equation is named after someone, then it is important.

(Someone’s phone goes off)
Professor: KILL IT!

Faith786: I know what you were doing the night before the chemistry exam.
Professor: Really? What was I doing?
Faith786: You were out on the city roof tops, fighting crime and evil with your super mad chemistry powers.
Professor: (smiles) Maybe subconsciously.

Faith786: Adam, ask (Professor) why Sulfuric acid is a strong acid but it has two hydrogens.
(Professor overheard)
Professor: I don’t know.
Faith786: But you have to know. You know everything about chemistry. You invented chemistry!
Professor: I am a 100 years old, not 400!

Professor: (on the board) So here water is an acid and here water is a base. What does this tell you about water?
(Pause)
It is schizophrenic, no?

More later….

Published in: on March 27, 2010 at 8:23 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://chemistry786.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/todays-moment-of-tell-em-like-it-is-ii/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love the quote that your professor might be subconsciously be going out before exams on roof tops fighting chemistry crime 😉 and that water is schizophrenic =P

  2. at(GeniusAccordingToMyChemProf):

    ROFL!!!!

    LOL!

    I love how he said you are a genius and he is mad. and he basically told me I need to learn how to think properly in chemistry.

    • I think you have a new and unique way of thinking, which, I believe, will benefit you in the long run.


Leave a comment